Developing ICT Resources for Colleagues: Inquiry Blog #3

When introducing any new initiative, it is wise to move slowly to allow all participants time to absorb and practice the new material, curriculum or skill. Research demonstrates the importance of encouraging change agents to adopt the new initiatives and then become a role model to his/her colleagues. If the change is required in a tight time frame, participants may feel frustrated and overwhelmed.

Joyce and Shower’s model (1993; 1988) (as cited in Leblanc, 1996), identified a number of teacher training components that contribute to the transfer of knowledge or skills into actual classroom practice:

  1. Presentation of theory or description of skill or strategy;
  2. Modeling or demonstration of skills or models of teaching;
  3. Practice in simulated and classroom settings;
  4. Structured and open-ended feedback (provision of information about performance);
  5. Coaching for application (hands on, in-class assistance with the transfer of skills and strategies in the classroom) [p. 27].

With this in mind, it is my goal to introduce one new ICT skill or technique at a time. For each new skill, I would like to try out the following format and then share it via a blog.

  1. introduce a curriculum topic
  2. introduce a new skill, technique or learning tool
  3. demonstrate the new technique
  4. provide resources and suggestions of how this could be incorporated into one’s teaching or into student learning
  5. request feedback and suggestions for further exploration and provide follow-up with colleagues

At the ISTE conference, I attended a fantastic workshop presented by Diane Neebe and Jen Roberts, the authors of “Power Up: Making the Shift to 1:1 Teaching and Learning“. In their workshop, they described effective ways to bring teachers on-board with ICT. Their book presents ten modules for introducing technology as it relates to good pedagogy. They reiterated that “good teaching is good teaching and it is not about the tool or the gadget!”.  One idea I loved was “Teacher Share Dare” in which they would challenge teachers to come and share not just an app or tool but HOW they are using it to engage learning.
Power Up: Making the Shift to 1:1 Teaching and Learning

Check out Diane Neebe’s blog for more helpful resources.  Diane Neebe’s Blog

So, this past week, I was coordinating Student Vote at my school. I sent out the following resources to my colleagues to help prepare for the election and to introduce them to the new ICT skill of ‘Padlets’.

Post to Staff:

With the upcoming federal election, are you ready?  On October 15, your students will have a say in the Federal Election through Student Vote.

Have you prepared your students to fully participate in Student Vote?

Don’t forget to sign up to take your class to Vote!! I created a Google Form and invited you to edit.

Voting Day Sign In

Student Vote Resources

I have compiled a few additional resources that may help you to prepare for this event!  You can access the items below or click on the items within the Padlet. A Padlet is a great tool to share resources all on one “page”. Feel free to add your own resources to share.

//padlet.com/embed/m5aw5guuiyam

 

Information Technology Tip: To Learn how to create a padlet to use in your own classroom, watch the short video below! (Padlets are similar to a virtual bulletin board.)

Cut, Sort and Paste Activity for Three Levels of Government

Activity Sheet to Review Local Candidates

Activity Sheet to Compare Parties

Activity Sheet: Take your parents to the polls (primary)

Government and Democracy Video

The Right to Vote

The Levels of Government

Feedback from Colleagues:

**You provided an overwhelming amount of resources. I used some of them. It comes down to how much time I can devote to this one topic.
Thank you for your abundance of sources.
The ones I used were helpful.

**The short video clips were really good. Although some of the information was beyond my classes’ understanding, they seemed to get the main ideas and enjoyed watching them. I just saw the worksheets you attached and those look helpful, especially the one that explains who the local candidates are and their main points on some of the issues.

The padlet is a neat idea. It would make sharing info and files with other teachers very easy.  Thanks for sharing all the resources.

Just for fun:

I asked my grade two students to complete the following sentence in their journals to prepare for voting in Student Vote:  “I will vote for ___________ because __________.”  I was curious to see what their responses would be after studying the election, levels of government and our local candidates. I thoroughly enjoyed reading them and thought you might too. Here are a few examples:

Chloe 5 Elizabeth 1

Picture 1: “I will vote for Chloe Ellis because she has a great party. She has the conservative party.”

Picture 2: “I want to vote for Elizabeth May ‘cuz she wants to protect the country and to let in more Canadians, so that’s why.”

Peter 3 Peter 6

Picture 3: “I want to vote for Peter Julian because my grandpa’s name is Peter.”

Picture 4: “I will vote for Peter because he is nice, he is nice because he takes care of families.”

Kyle 1 Kyle 2

Picture 5: “I am voting for Kyle Routledge because I want to save the environment.”

Picture 6: “I will vote for Routledge. I like Rutledge because he takes care of nature.”

Although the Student Vote went well and the teachers appreciated the resources, I would like to follow up with my colleagues and brainstorm ways to use Padlets as a learning and teaching tool. I work with a fantastic bunch of teachers who could use technology tools in amazing ways to enhance their teaching. Hmmm…when can I organize a “Teacher Share Dare”?

References

CIVIX. (September 22, 2015). “CIVIX Explains Government and Democracy.” Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JgBBfM8SYPA&feature=youtu.be

CIVIX. (September 22, 2015). “CIVIX Explains The Levels of Government”. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7C8uDuhLqvg

CIVIC. (September 22, 2015). “CIVIX Explains The Right to Vote”. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8AFU17NpVS4

CIVIX. (2015). “Worksheet 7.4: A Trip to the Polling Place”. Student Vote Teaching Resources. Retrieved from http://studentvote.ca/teaching-resources/elementary/

Leblanc, P. (1996). Project Infusion: teachers, training, and technology. Journal of Information Technology for Teacher Education, (5)1-2, 25-34.

Neebe, D. & Roberts, J. (2015). Power Up: Making the Shift to 1:1 Teaching and Learning. Stenhouse.

Teaching Palette. (November 29, 2013).Padlet: Engage and Get Your Students Thinking! Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uZk4jwEen_o

4 thoughts on “Developing ICT Resources for Colleagues: Inquiry Blog #3

  1. A great review of your recent attempt to support your staff and community in exploring and learning some new ICT skills and utilizing some new resources. Hearing back from the staff and from students was insightful and interesting, but a bit more reflection on your part on what you might change, or adapt for next time would be useful. Supporting ICT among the staff can be an uphill battle and since we can’t force anything on them, we have to find ways to embed and surprise our colleagues with ideas and tools that will be “just in time” for their needs. Overall, a good post that outlines some good key strategies and examples of how to support and engage your school community in exploring new ideas and ICT skills. Great tagging, linking and embedding.

    Like

    1. Great suggestion to record my reflections about what I might change. I tend to mull around what I would change or adapt the next time, but I definitely see the benefit of formally recording my insights.

      Like

  2. Interesting project. I like how you got feedback from the staff – I think that’s critical in helping us ensure we are providing the best feedback possible. How far in advance did you provide all the links and resources? Did you send the links to all staff or to certain grade levels? Some of the staff’s comments stood out to me: “You provided an overwhelming amount of resources” and “some of the information was beyond my classes’ understanding.” I wonder if perhaps you could have provided fewer resources so as to not overwhelm? Or, perhaps, tailoring the resources to more specific grade levels (so it doesn’t go above their heads)? Just some ideas! Very interesting project and that’s amazing that you found all those resources, chose such a relevant project, and provided all that to your staff (they’re very lucky!).

    Like

  3. I have never heard of padlet.com. I appreciate that you shared this “virtual bulletin board.” This web tool can be useful in many ways, I will definitely share it with my colleagues. Thank you for sharing your project about “Students Vote”. You were able to reflect on how to improve your collaboration with your colleagues. Your “Teacher Share Dare” can be done similar to an “Edcamp” style of conference (see Jena’s blog).

    Like

Leave a Reply

